Early experiences…

happy sad happy
After using the beta version of Studio and seeing the Trados Studio Roadshow in San Jose in Spring 2009, I got really excited about the upcoming version of Trados. It seemed to offer several very useful new features. However, when I finally got a chance to start using the actual release version for real translation work in August 2009 (after my summer vacation), I soon noticed that it is still very slow and prone to frequent crashing, as was the pre-release version. At that point I decided to wait for the first Service Pack as well as for Windows 7 (and a new computer). When I came back from the ATA Conference in early November, my new Windows 7 computer was waiting for me. I installed Studio and started using it for my translation projects. Happy to report that during the past three weeks, it has crashed only once, and works very fast. However, there are still several kinks that the software engineers need to iron out and plenty of room for improvement… but it also has several very cool new features. And those are the issues I will be concentrating/reporting on next.

Leave a Reply

