TagEditor – A Blast from the Past

happy happy

I was “forced” to use TagEditor the other day and that really reminded me how clumsy it is compared to Studio. I also realized that this is one major Studio improvement that I should have mentioned in my earlier “Reasons Why I Like Studio” list. I guess, it was just too obvious. Anyhow, the new editor interface and the underlying SDLXLIFF file format have brought several benefits but one really basic and practical benefit is that you can work in an “almost tag-free” environment without needing to use TagEditor for non-Word files or to worry about the annoying font and formatting changes that often happened when translating in Word environment. I admit that the table format has its drawbacks and it can take a while to get used to it but it still definitely works much better overall.

2 Responses to “TagEditor – A Blast from the Past”

  1. Michael Schubert Says:

    Definitely better! TagEditor was practically a crime against humanity.

    The major drawback to TagEditor, Studio or any proprietary environment is that the export will fail and the file will never escape its clutches. This happened to me with an INX file (InDesign export) and it took a week to resolve (through the client’s paid SDL support). A couple of months ago, I spent six hours troubleshooting, retranslating and “rescuing” a 60-slide PowerPoint presentation that I could not export despite all the tricks I could think of. And I’ve had the problem with Word files as well. Empty target segments seem to have been the problem with the INX, and embedded documents the problem with the DOC. The PPT problem remains a mystery. The error messages generated by Studio are useless.

    Maybe the subject of a future blog posting …

  2. Tuomas Says:

    Ouch… that’s not good. Actually, I had a similar problem today with a small INX file. However, I ended up copying the SDLXLIFF file to another computer and created the target TTX file there without a problem. I should see if I can still recreate the problem, and file a report then.

    Thanks for the “warning”, Michael! 😉


Leave a Reply

