SP2 is finally here…

happy happy

…or not actually here but at your SDL My Account.  I’m downloading it right now. It’s very slow. If you don’t want to stare at the download progress bar you can read more about the new features here: http://kb.sdl.com/article.aspx?article=3077&p=1

Or if the wait gets really long, how about reading the brand new Quick Start Guides?

3 Responses to “SP2 is finally here…”

  1. Richard Says:

    Hi, Tuomas. I quite enjoyed your workshop on Trados Studio last Nov. I finally started actually using it just recently for my latest translation job & I’m very happy with it so far. No more of those dreaded 80001 errors, server thrown exceptions, that I was getting more & more of all the time with Trados 2007. However, one thing I’ve noticed with Studio is puzzling me & that’s that every time you open a new doc. to translate, Trados generates a folder named after the name of the doc, containing another folder called “File Types,” which contains a whole mess of different files. And oddly, no matter what size the doc. for translation is, the folder generated is always the same size, at least in my experience so far. So even tho I translated 3 different files, 2 PPt. files & one very small Excel file that was embedded in one of the PPt. files, each one of the folders generated was exactly 2.78 MB. Isn’t that weird? So it sure takes up a lot more space than Trados 2007! Now I have to figure out if I can delete them since the jobs are done! This was not mentioned in the Quick Start Guide I downloaded from your site here so I guess I’ll have to look elsewhere. In any case, I’d appreciate your comments if you don’t mind. Thank you.

  2. Tuomas Says:

    Yes, I have noticed that “strange” folder too. It looks like Studio copies all the different file type setting files into this “File Types” folder for each file (or project) when you open a file for translation or create a project. These are always the same files, unless you make changes to the file type settings, so that’s why the folder is the same size. However, I’m not sure why it’s done this way — it’s quite a messy method. I don’t know why it doesn’t just copy the one setting file that matches the file type you are translating; why bother with all the rest?

    You could delete the folder after you have finished the file/project but you won’t be able to open the project after that because it needs that folder. However, you can still open the translated bilingual SDLXLIFF file even if you delete the folder, and when you do that it creates — surprise, surprise — a new folder with all the file types.

  3. Richard Says:

    Thank you for answering my question & I appreciate the additional info. as well. As least now I know that it’s OK to delete those constantly reappearing folders!

    -Richard


Leave a Reply

