Word Count Analysis in Studio

I’m often asked about how to do a word count analysis in Studio. It’s not surprising because the feature stays somewhat hidden if one translates without creating projects. When using the previous versions of Trados, I used to run the analysis more or less automatically for every job because it was so easy to do. However, in Studio it’s a bit more complicated and I’ve noticed that I don’t do it nearly as often (if I don’t create a project). So here’s a summary on how the analysis is done in Studio for those who might still be wondering about it.

1. When creating a project: This is easy and automatic. You get a full word count and analysis statistics report if you include the “Analyze Files” batch task in a task sequence (such as Prepare [with or without project TM]) when creating a project. The results can be viewed in the Reports and Files views. If you only want the analysis results you can select the Analyze Only task sequence instead of Prepare but you still need to go through the whole process of project creation. This might save some time since the files will not be pre-translated as they would if you used Prepare.

2. When translating a single file: This is when it gets a bit more complicated. Since no project batch tasks are run, you need to run the analysis task separately. Open the file for translation in the editor and save it in SDLXLIFF format (File > Save), if not done already. Open the Files (or Projects) view. Right-click the file (or project) name and select Batch Tasks > Analyze Files. Note that the batch tasks are grayed out if you haven’t saved the file in SDLXLIFF format first. Click Finish in the Batch Processing dialog box to start the analysis. This will give you the full analysis statistics without having to go through the actual project creation process. The results can be viewed in the Reports and Files views. Another option would be to create a project but to select the Analyze Only task sequence, as described above (#1).

Note also the new Report  internal fuzzy match leverage option in the analysis settings.

By the way, don’t expect to get the same word count results with Studio as compared to Trados 2007. I haven’t had the patience (or time) to figure out the reasons for that but I’d be interested in hearing from others who might have looked into this in more detail. Anyhow, this offers a great opportunity to test your negotiation skills with clients who use the other version.

UPDATE: You can find a new article about the word count differences here.

19 Responses to “Word Count Analysis in Studio”

  1. Neil Says:

    Hi Tuomas

    I just found this blogsite. It’s excellent. It covers lots of important questions that causes me and I’m sure many other translators to tear our hair out.

    Thanks a lot,

    Neil

    • Tuomas Says:

      Thanks Neil!

      • Daniel Says:

        Thank you.
        I analyzed it following your instruction but I cant’ see the results in the Reports or Files views.
        The message Under Reports: No Reports available.
        Under Files View: N/A

        So, what do I do to get the result?

        Sincerely,

        Daniel

      • Tuomas Says:

        Difficult to say what happened or went wrong. Did you get this Analyze Files Completed message at the end of the analysis batch task?

  2. Hans Näslund Says:

    I have noticed very big differences between wordcount in Trados 2007 and in
    Trados Studio 2009 – Trados 2007 finds at least 50% more words in the same file
    as Studio does.

    A recent example is a Word file which I had to trenslate, and Trados 2007
    counted 4704 words, while Studio only found 2926 words. I have experienced this
    every time I have been using Studio.

    Up till now I have often been using Workbench 2007 for a preliminary analysis to
    give a price estimate before creating a project in Studio, but that does not
    seem to be correct any more.

    Is there any explanation for this difference – how can two versions of Trados count words
    so differently? And which one is correct?

    • Tuomas Says:

      Interesting. My experience is that, in general, Studio finds more words because it also counts lone numbers from tables, for example. I wonder what’s in your file that makes Studio see less words. Is part of the text hidden? Studio skips all hidden text in Word files but Trados 2007 doesn’t.

  3. Florin Says:

    Why the hell does it have to be ‘a bit more complicated’ to count words? Is that the purpose of new software? To make it more complicated instead of easier? Trados developers – wake up!

  4. Sandra Says:

    Thank you soooo much !! I’ve been investigating the whooole day for that, with no answer up to now, you saved my day !!

  5. Caroline Says:

    Thank you Tuomas!!! It has really helped me. But can I post a question, please? Daniel wrote that he can’t see the result in the reports menu – I have the same problem – I get the counts in project view (so I have the word count for my purposes) but in the reports menu it says “no reports available” and I don’t seem able to export the word count to send to the client. Would be really grateful if you could offer some advice.Thanks!

    • Tuomas Says:

      I’m not sure but we can try to figure it out… There are two different statistics at the bottom of the Files view: Confirmation Statistics and Analysis Statistics. Do you have data in both or just in the Confirmation Statistics? If only in the Confirmation Statistics, then run the analysis task again and see if you get that confirmation window that the analysis was done successfully. Let me know.

      • Caroline Says:

        Hi, thank you for your quick reply – I’ve fiddled around (not sure exactly what I did!) and restarted Trados and now I have a Word Count Report – but it doesn’t include the breakdown statistics – is this right? If so, how do I get a table of the breakdown in the report menu, that I can then print/export to an email? Sorry for being persistent, but this is really annoying me as my clients often ask me to quote according to Trados breakdown, but expect me to do the maths and provide the evidence (have been using a screen shot til now – but there has to be a better way, or not????) Thank you so much for your effort / time – if it is too much trouble, please just say so!

      • Tuomas Says:

        I’ll contact you by email. It will be easier that way…

  6. Gérard Fesselet Says:

    Hi, do you know the error message “TranslationProviderThrewException” in an analyse attempt in Studio 2014?
    Completely impossible to understand the reason of this…
    Thanks in advance

    • Tuomas Says:

      Hi Gérard! Unfortunately, I don’t know exactly why that happens in your case. I would try first running the analysis with a different TM just to see if this is a TM-related issue, and try to troubleshoot the problem that way.

      • Gérard Fesselet Says:

        Hi Tuomas, I am using the app “Any TM Provider”. But I am right unsecure about what memory I should use for every English-French project. I use to take both the Any TM Memory for this pair and the “ordinary” memory (Any TM eng-fra + eng-fra). I tested to suppress one of them for the analyse and it finally worked if I only kept the “ordinary” memory (eng-fra). Then the analyse worked fine.
        To make the job I just can add again the Any-TM memory.
        Thanks for the advice, do you think I should do something else?
        Have a nice day and many thanks!

      • Tuomas Says:

        Yes, that makes sense. Any TM Provider doesn’t always behave like a normal TM. You are right, it’s a good idea to turn it off in your global settings (Files > Options) and then just activate it separately from Project settings after the project has been created, if needed. The downside is that the analysis report doesn’t include your Any TM Provider memory. If really needed, you could change the language identifier (in a TMX file outside Studio) and create a new TM with the “correct” language pair.

  7. Frédéric Meyer Says:

    Thank you for this excellent explication: I am myself a nwebie and I use SDL Trados 2011.

    I have to give a quote for a new project and there is a lot of repetitions in the text (repeated sentences / paragraphs).

    I want to take them in accout but I don t find the relevant statistics.

    How can I access to them with Trados ?

    Thanks in advance

    • Tuomas Says:

      Hi Frédéric

      After you have analyzed the file(s) with one of the above mentioned methods, the results can be viewed in the Reports view (lower left). You might need to select the Analyze Files (upper left in the side panel) option in the Reports view in order to see the actual results. Hope that helps.

      -Tuomas


Leave a Reply

